2018-2019 Austin Chapter Board of Directors

Austin HIMSS Chapter Board of Directors 2018-2019

President: Elsie Gori


Elsie Gori, MSHI, BSN, RN, CMSRN is the Director of Clinical Informatics at North Austin Medical Center, part of the HCA family of hospitals. She has a diverse background that includes 15 years in the semiconductor industry, decades of volunteer positions within several non-profit organizations,  and over 12 years in healthcare.  Elsie graduated from The University of Texas at Austin with her BSN and received her Masters of Science in Health Informatics from the University of South Florida. She attributes HIMSS with invaluable support and learning opportunities as she continues to grow in the world of healthcare information and technology.

Elsie joined Austin HIMSS as a student member over 3 years ago and has served on the Austin HIMSS board for the past two years.

Past President: Kristin Norton



President Elect and Advocacy: Douglas Caldwell



Communications/Web: Shannon Freiermuth


Shannon has been in the healthcare industry for over 18 years in several roles including as a Registered Nurse, Healthcare Consultant, Sales and Account Management roles. I enjoy being a lifetime student of healthcare markets, drivers and trends and driving real world value to my clients. This will be my third year as a member of the Austin HIMSS and second year at the Commmuncation Chair! 

Advocacy Chair: Sarah Churchill Llamas

Sarah Churchill Llamas is a healthcare and health information technology attorney and a nationally-recognized expert in health IT solutions, having been appointed a Health IT Fellow by the Office of National Coordinator for Health IT under the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) in 2014. Sarah is a shareholder in Winstead's Austin office and Chair of their Cybersecurity specialty group. Sarah is also a member of the firm’s Healthcare and Technology Industry Groups as well as the Corporate Securities/Mergers & Acquisitions Practice Group.

Sarah represents a broad range of health information technology companies who are working diligently to improve the healthcare system in a variety of ways from mHealth to advanced algorithms and machine learning. In addition, she represents the entities that intersect with health information technology including hospitals, health plans, large physician groups and accountable care organizations, managed services organizations, self-insured employers and venture capital firms.

Membership & Sponsorship: Ray Wolf



Programming: Doug Caldwell




Social Events: Bob Nussbaum



Treasurer: Jeff Nordyke


Program Chair: Sara Mitran



Membership Chair: Kathryn Smathers



Social Media Liason: Francisco Ochoa



Student Liason: Dan Page